All Saints, Chadshunt, Warwickshire
- Site Location
- National Grid Reference
- SP 350 530
now (or name of monument): All Saints
- Type of building/monument
- Parish church (redundant)
II General Description
This redundant church has a simple, 17thc. W tower, and a Georgian chancel and N chapel. The nave is 12thc. with later windows. 12thc. sculpture is found on the N and S doorways and the font
III Exterior Features
(i) S doorway, nave
Pointed arch, of one order. Of Hornton stone except for capitals of grey stone. Heavily eroded and distorted.
|w. of opening||1.09 m|
|h. of opening||to follow|
|h. of nook shafts,||1.40 m|
|diam. of nook shafts,||0.14 m|
|h. incl. necking||0.16 m|
|h. not incl. necking||0.14 m|
L capital: not readily readable, it has plain necking and three faint vertical incisions on the angle.
R capital: Not readily readable, it has plain necking and has two holes drilled into it and diagonal incised lines. The S face of the jamb bears a crude design picked out by shallow holes; a semicircle with a vertical line from the apex to the base, and a smaller concentric semicircle within.
The interior is plain, opening out into a considerably higher recess with a round arch over.
(ii) N doorway, nave.
Round-headed, of one order. Of Hornton stone, heavily eroded.
|w. of opening||1.02 m|
|h. of R nook shaft||1.38 m|
|diam. of R nook shaft||0.14 m|
|h. incl, necking||0.17 m|
|h. not incl, necking||0.15 m|
Attic bases on integral square plinths, resting on a further chamfered support. Detached nook shafts support cushion capitals with angle tuck. The L capital is in very poor condition. The L shaft is missing.
Circular, tub-shaped, on a heavily moulded base; lead lined, of pale, off-white stone. The round base is chamfered below a heavy roll, above which are mouldings which resemble a water-holding base. Above is a concave moulding flanked by a fillet, this is followed by a triple roll, the central roll standing proud of the outer rolls. A small section of cable-moulding has been incised into each of the two uppermost rolls, the rows mirroring each other. The bowl is chamfered in its lower half and is carved with intersecting arcading. The imposts of the arcading are level with the top of the chamfer. The rim is hollow chamfered and is carved with 12 discrete dog-tooth type ornaments.
|int. diam.||0.55 m|
|ext. diam.||to follow|
|h. of bowl||to follow|
In the 12thc. the church was supported by the precentor of Lichfield Cathedral, by 1290 becoming a chapel of Bishop's Itchington, and continuing as such until 1879. The church was redesigned in 1852, and was declared redundant in 1988.
The two plain doorways with their heavy mouldings and simple capitals probably beloing to the first half of the 12thc. The pointed arch of the S doorway may result from rebuilding - there is a good deal of disturbed masonry in the surrounding walls.
The font clearly belongs to the 13thc. (dogtooth, multiple moulded plinth) but is included as a late example of a common form of 12thc. arcaded decoration. (Ed.)
- Pevsner and Wedgewood, 206
- VCH 5