We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Who is CRSBI?

The project is driven forward by experts in their fields who are working hard to complete the CRSBI. All the fieldwork and administration of the project is completed by volunteers. We have world-experts and experienced professionals on our management committee and our administrative teams, and they all work unpaid to see the CRSBI project completed.

Our fieldworkers are dedicated volunteers who have the knowledge to catalogue, describe and photograph Romanesque sculpture.

The Corpus of Romanesque Sculpture is a registered charity, no: 1168535

The CRSBI management board

Chair: Dr John Munns

Research Director: Dr Ron Baxter

Treasurer: Susan Nettle

Secretary: Dr Rose Walker

Project Director: Karen Impey

Fieldworker Coordinator: Dr John Wand

Editor Manager: Dr Meg Bernstein

Newsletter Editor & Web Manager: Miriam Mott

The CRSBI board of trustees

The Board of Trustees are legally responsible for the project but the day-to-day management of the project is done by the management board.

Dr (Imogen) Nicola Coldstream

Katherine Davey

Catherine English (née Hardman)

Professor Eric Fernie

Dr James King

Dr Neil Stratford

They ensure that CRSBI is run:

1) for the advancement of the education of the public in the history, aesthetics and understanding of Romanesque sculpture made between circa 1050 and circa 1200 in Britain and Ireland and through the establishment maintenance and promotion of a permanent record and archive of such sculpture.

2) to assist in the preservation of such sculpture for the public benefit in such ways as the trustees shall from time to time determine.

CRSBI Editors

Our team of academic editors who check all the fieldworkers' material before it is published on the CRSBI website. They are the only individuals on the CRSBI project who are paid for their work.

  • Dr Ron Baxter
  • Dr Agata Gomolka
  • Dr Matilde Grimaldi
  • Dr Toby Huitson
  • Dr Rose Walker

Freelance Posts

In addition, some of the editing team have separate responsibilities for which they are paid.

Editor Manager: Dr Meg Bernstein

Events coordinator: Dr Agata Gomolka

Newsletter Editor & Web Manager: Miriam Mott