We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

No Romanesque Sculpture

A List of Sites without Romanesque Sculpture


Our fieldworkers have visited sites where Romanesque material was reported in the literature, and have sometimes found that nothing in the way of Romanesque sculpture was to be found. This is usually because there is Romanesque fabric present but nothing that we would call sculpture. In a few cases reported sculpture has gone missing, or has been moved elsewhere. In these cases we include a site report with a link to the sculpture's new location if there is one. Finally there are cases where material described in the literature as Romanesque, or 12th century, simply isn't. If there is any doubt we simply record the feature with a caveat in the Comments section, but if the literature is simply wrong the site will be classified a No Romanesque Sculpture and include in the list below.

We have included this list on the website to avoid repeated visits, and to provide a kind of update to literature that records Romanesque material erroneously. The list is arranged by country. For England and Scotland it is subdivided into traditional (pre- 1974-75) counties; for the Republic of Ireland it is simply alphabetical by location with an indication of the county. No sites without Romanesque sculpture have yet been visited in Wales or Northern Ireland.



Beaulieu Priory

Biddenham, St James

Blunham, St Edmund or St James

Bushmead Priory

Chicksands Priory

Keysoe, St Mary

Markyate, St John the Baptist

Meppershall, Our Lady

Oakley, St Mary

Pertenhall, St Peter

Stotfold, St Mary the Virgin

Warden Abbey

Woburn Abbey

Wrestlingworth, St Peter


Appleford, St Peter and St Paul

Aston Tirrold, St Michael

Aston Upthorpe, All Saints

Burghfield, St Mary

Compton Beauchamp, St Swithun

Cookham, Holy Trinity

Drayton, St Peter

Great Coxwell, St Giles

North Moreton, All Saints

South Moreton, All Saints

Twyford, St Mary

Winkfield, St Mary


Chesham, St Mary

Clifton Reynes, St Mary

Hardwick, St Mary

Long Crendon, St Mary

Oakley, St Mary

Weston Underwood, St Laurence


Bartlow, St Mary

Caxton, St Andrew

Chippenham, St Margaret of Antioch


Neston, St Mary and St Helen

Sandbach, St Mary

Woodchurch, Holy Cross


Lanteglos-by-Fowey, St Willow

Restormel Castle


Beckermet, St John

Camerton, St Mary

Carlisle Castle

Ennerdale Bridge, St Mary

Newton Reigny, St John

Orton, All Saints


Ballidon, All Saints

Caldwell, St Giles

Calke Abbey, St Giles

Normanton, St Giles

Repton, St Wystan

Stanley, St Andrew


Barnstaple, St Peter and St Paul

Brentor, St Michael de Rupe

Buckland Abbey

Buckland Filleigh, St Mary

Cookbury, St John and the Seven Macabees

East Putford, St Philip and St James the Less (formerly)

Exeter, St George

Germansweek, St German

Hartland Abbey

Lydford Castle

Mortehoe, St Mary

Okehampton Castle

Pancrasweek, St Pancras

Tawstock, St Peter

Whitchurch, St Andrew


Gussage St Andrew

West Knighton, St Peter

Whitcombe church

Winterbourne Tomson, St Andrew


Bradfield, St Lawrence

Brightlingsea, All Saints

Easthorpe, St Mary

Elmstead, St Anne

Great Maplestead, St Giles

High Laver, All Saints

Langford, St Giles

Little Easton, St Mary the Virgin

Little Hallingbury, St Mary

Little Ilford, St Mary

Maldon, St Mary

Marks Tey, St Andrew

Peldon, St Mary

Stanford Rivers, St Margaret

Stanway, St Albright

West Mersea, St Peter and St Paul

Wormingford, St Andrew


Fairford, St Mary

Hatherop, St Nicholas

Lechlade, St Lawrence

Meysey Hampton, St Mary

Poulton, St Michael and All Angels

Whelford, St Anne


East Wellow, St Margaret

Kinson, St Andrew


Adforton, St Andrew

Clifford, St Mary

Kimbolton, St James

Leinthall Earls, St Andrew

Leinthall Starkes, St Mary Magdalene

Llandinabo, St Junabius


Aldenham, St John the Baptist

Aspenden, St Mary

Berkhamstead, St Peter

Much Hadham, St Andrew

South Mimms, St Giles

St Albans, St Stephen

Stanstead St Margaret

Tonwell, St Mary's School


Chesterton, St Michael

Farcet, St Mary

Isle of Wight

Shorwell, St Peter


Hartley, All Saints

West Malling, St Mary


Billington, St Leonard

Bispham, Blackpoool, All Hallows

Dalton, St Mary

Hawkshead, St Michael

Hornby, St Margaret

Out Rawcliffe, St John


Fenny Drayton, St James

Owston and Newbold, St Andrew

Queniborough, St Mary


Reepham, St Mary


Aldwincle, All Saints

Ashley, St Mary

Barby, St Mary

Canons Ashby, St Mary

Great Harrowden, All Saints

Rushton, All Saints

Slipton, St John the Baptist

Stanwick, St Laurence

Stoke Bruerne, St Mary


Cotham, St Michael

Lambley, Holy Trinity

Misterton, All Saints

Newstead Priory

Wollaton, St Leonard


Marston, Oxford, St Nicholas


Hopton Castle


Exton, St Peter

Limington, St Mary

Lopen, All Saints

Muchelney, St Peter and St Paul

North Barrow, St Nicholas

North Cadbury, St Michael

Rode, St Lawrence

Spaxton, St Margaret

Stawley, St Michael

Washford, St Pancras

Witham Friary

Wootton Courtenay, All Saints

Yarlington, St Mary


Belton with Browston, All Saints

Bradfield St George, St George

Bramfield, St Andrew

Brandeston, All Saints

Brent Eleigh, St Mary

Brockley, St Andrew

Brome and Oakley, St Mary

Bungay, Holy Trinity

Denham, St Mary

Ilketshall St Margaret, St Margaret

Lidgate, St Mary

Rede, All Saints

Stuston, All Saints


Ockham, All Saints


Buxted, St Mary the Virgin


Baddesley Clinton, St Michael

King's Newnham, St Laurence

Lapworth, St Mary the Virgin


Fovant, St George


King's Norton, St Nicholas

Yorkshire, East Riding

Foxholes, St Mary

Holmpton, St Nicholas

Howden, St Peter

Keyingham, St Nicholas

Kilnsea, St Helen

Meaux, former Cistercian Abbey

North Ferriby, All Saints

Nunkeeling, Ruined church

Patrington, St Patrick

Skipsea Castle

Warter Priory

Watton Priory

Wilberfoss, St John the Baptist

Yorkshire North Riding

Sheriff Hutton, St Helen

Yorkshire West Riding

Doncaster, St George

Esholt, Priory of St Leonard and St Mary

Huddersfield, St Peter

Letwell, St Peter

Maltby, St Bartholomew

Marr, St Helen

Owston, All Saints

Pontefract, St Giles

South Kirkby, All Saints

Thornhill, St Michael and All Angels

Whiston, St Mary Magdalene


Askeaton church, Limerick

Kilaspugbrone church, Sligo

Killalan Round Tower, Mayo

Killeedy, former monastic church, Limerick

Killilagh church, Clare

Kilmakilloge, ruined church, Kerry

Raheen-an-Chluig church, Wicklow

Rathcline church, Roscommon



Doune of Inverlochty Castle

Old Deer, former Cistercian house


Kilmory Chapel


Gardenstown, Northfield Farm

Gardenstown ruined church


Crosskirk ruined church

Halkirk old parish church

Skinnet ruined chapel of St Thomas

Wick parish church


Tongland, former Premonstratensian house

East Lothian

Haddington, former Cistercian house

Morham, Parish church

North Berwick, St Andrew's Old Kirk

North Berwick, Priory of St Mary


Aberdour Parish church

Pittenweem, former Augustinian house


Inverness Museum and Art Gallery


Currie Parish church


Kinloss, former Cistercian house


Birsay, St Magnus

Brough of Birsay

Brough of Deerness, Chapel ruins

Eglisay ruined church

Orphir ruined church

Wyre Castle

Wyre ruined church


Forteviot parish church

Scone, Augustinian monastic site


Lilliesleaf parish church

Southdean ruined church


Kirkmadrine, former church of St Medran, Stoneykirk

Kirkmaiden Old Church

List updated 22 March 2024 by Ron Baxter