We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

St Andrew, South Warnborough, Hampshire

Location
(51°13′9″N, 0°58′5″W)
South Warnborough
SU 72157 47192
pre-1974 traditional (England and Wales) Hampshire
now Hampshire
medieval St Andrew
now St Andrew
  • Kathryn A Morrison
  • Kathryn A Morrison
14 October 2025

Please use this link to cite this page - https://www.crsbi.ac.uk/view-item?i=12643.

Find out how to cite the CRSBI website here.

Feature Sets
Description

South Warnborough is located 4.5km. S of Odiham in NE Hampshire. St Andrew’s church is faced in a mixture of flint and roughcast, and roofed with red tiles. The chancel is essentially 13thc. in date, but the nave is of the 12thc., with a carved N doorway and a Norman window at the W end of the S wall. A bell turret rises over the W bay of the nave.

In 1869-70 G. E. Street added a N porch and a S aisle with a three-bay arcade. The aisle had a vestry and an organ chamber at its E end, overlapping the chancel. Around 2008-09, Street’s vestry and organ chamber was converted into a chapel, accessed from the chancel, and a smaller vestry was provided under a catslide roof to its E. The arcade was screened off and the aisle divided into a kitchen and a Heritage Room. A contemporary timber structure on the S side of the aisle contains a cloakroom and an entrance to the kitchen.

History

In 1086 South Warnborough was owned by Hugh, son of Baldric, and tenanted by Guy de Craon. It had a church.

The church was restored by G. E. Street in 1869-70. He added a N porch and a S aisle with a vestry and organ chamber at its E end. This was remodelled, and the aisle screened off, around 2008-09

Features

Exterior Features

Doorways

Comments/Opinions

The doorway may have been dismantled and reerected during G. E. Street's campaign of 1869-70. Not only are some of the stones whitewashed while others are bare, but they appear to have been reassembled in a haphazard order. The same type of ornament, with hyphenated lozenges flanked by hyphenated chevron, is found at Shrawley (Worcs). Similar motifs can be found in St Cross, Winchester, probably no earlier than the 1170s. The N doorway of South Warnborough was dated to c.1160 by the VCH (1908), but may be later.

Before the reconfiguration of the S aisle c.2008-99, an early 12thc. volute capital and shaft could be seen to the right of the altar. According to VCH (1908) this had been built into the new wall when the S aisle was created. Bullen et al (2010) described the feature as: ‘fragments of a C12 carved capital possibly from a destroyed chancel arch’. The S aisle could not be accessed by CRSBI fieldworkers and this feature was not recorded.

The font is said to be a copy of the old one ‘whose base survives’ (Bullen et al 2010).

Bibliography
  1. M. Bullen, J. Crook, R. Hubbuck & N. Pevsner, The Buildings of England Hampshire: Winchester & the North, London, 2010, 487-489.

Church plans of 1869-71 (images.lambethpalacelibrary.org.uk).

Historic England List 1244695 (Legacy No. 450174).

  1. N. Pevsner & D. Lloyd, The Buildings of England Hampshire and the Isle of Wight, London, 1967, 603-603.

Victoria County History, Hampshire, vol. 3, London, 1908, 378-382.