Wolvesey Castle (or Old Bishop’s Palace) was an important residence of the bishops of Winchester from the late 10thc. until the 17thc., when it was superseded by a new palace in the outer ward to the S. It occupies the SE corner of the walled city, a short distance from Winchester Cathedral. The ruins are cared for by English Heritage.
The buildings are arranged around a trapezoidal inner courtyard. Visitors approach from the S but the main medieval gateway lay to the N. Little stands of the so-called West Hall, built c.1110 by Bishop William Giffard, with a tower and chapel to its S. Most of the standing structures can be ascribed to Bishop Henry of Blois, who succeeded Bishop Giffard in 1129. Most notably, Henry erected the first-floor East Hall. The lower level of its N (or dais) wall features a substantial blind arcade. Above this, elements of two ornamented windows have survived. A tall gable (possibly with ocuil, as reconstructed by English Heritage) would have completed this elevation. Two plain Romanesque windows with edge rolls survive in the S wall of the hall.
Other structures on the site have been attributed to Henry of Blois, including the kitchen (or keep) to the E, the chapel to the S, the Woodman’s gate to the N, and Wymond’s tower to the SE. Sculptural fragments recovered from the chapel are now in Winchester City Museum.