We use cookies to improve your experience, some are essential for the operation of this site.

Caversham Court, Caversham, Berkshire

Feature Sets
Description

Of the buildings of Caversham Court only the stables and a garden house remain. The site is now a public garden on the N side of the Thames, just S of St Peter's Caversham, and at the top of a flight of steps is a pair of gateposts with a beast's head corbel built into each.

History

Anciently on this site stood Caversham Rectory, which together with the Church of St.Peter, was part of the endowment made in the year 1162 by Walter Giffard, first Earl of Buckingham to Notley Abbey. Just before 1800, Caversham Court passed into the hands of the Blackall Simonds brewing family of Ryde. It was rebuilt by Pugin in 1840 and demolished in 1933. For the Domesday history of the manor, see Caversham, St Peter.

Features

Exterior Features

Exterior Decoration

Corbel tables, corbels
Comments/Opinions

The corbels were first brought to our attention by Prof. Eric Fernie. Similar corbels are found in Reading Museum, in the Forbury Gardens, and in the folly erected in the churchyard of St Laurences's, Reading, and it is presumed that these too came from Reading Abbey.

Bibliography

Friends of Caversham Court Gardens, Caversham Court Gardens: A Heritage Guide, Reading 2013,

Historic England Listed Building English Heritage Legacy ID: 38866

N. Pevsner, The Buildings of England. Berkshire. Harmondsworth, 1966, 110.

G. Tyack, S. Bradley and N. Pevsner, The Buildings of England. Berkshire. New Haven and London 2010, 479-80.

Location
(51°28′3″N, 0°58′55″W)

World map

Caversham Court, Caversham
SU 708 748
pre-1974 traditional (England and Wales) Berkshire
now Reading
medieval Salisbury
now Oxford
  • Ron Baxter
05 September 1996